Variation to the Composition of the Anglian (Northern) Regional Flood and Coastal Committee

Closed 18 Jun 2019

Opened 7 May 2019


The Regional Flood & Coastal Committees (RFCCs) are committees established by the Environment Agency under the Flood and Water Management Act 2010. These bring together members appointed by Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs) and independent members with relevant experience for 3 purposes:

  • to ensure there are coherent plans for identifying, communicating and managing flood and coastal erosion risks across catchments and shorelines.
  • to promote efficient, targeted and risk-based investment in flood and coastal erosion risk management that optimises value for money and benefits for local communities.
  • to provide a link between the Environment Agency, LLFAs, other risk management authorities, and other relevant bodies to bring about mutual understanding of flood and coastal erosion risks in its area.

There are 12 Committees in England and each has a Chair appointed by Defra. The Anglian (Northern) RFCC covers the Environment Agency's Lincolnshire and Northamptonshire Area's water management catchments.

The following local government reorganisation means a change to the Constituent Authority Membership of the Anglian (Northern) Regional Flood and Coastal Committee is required:

  • On 31 August 2018 the Northamptonshire Local Government Reform Proposal was submitted for consideration by Government. The Proposal is for two new unitary authorities to be formed (West Northamptonshire and North Northamptonshire), coming into existence on the 1 April 2020.

Each new authority will deliver all local government services in their respective areas including being Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs). The creation of these new authorities has implications for the composition of the Anglian (Northern) Regional Flood and Coastal Committee.

The Anglian (Northern) Regional Flood and Coastal Committee membership includes representation from Northamptonshire County Council. This membership was signed off by the Secretary of State in 2011. Due to the changes in Northamptonshire, this membership will need to be varied before 1 December 2019 to represent the new councils on 1 April 2020.


No changes to the number of Environment Agency or LLFA Members or to the LLFAs sharing seats.

Given the near 50:50 split of tax base across two new unitary authorities within Anglian (Northern) RFCC area, the existing three seats for Northamptonshire are proposed to be split. Each new authority will have their own seat and they will also share a third seat between themselves.

Given the wider composition of the RFCC no further options have been considered for consultation.

Please see the consultation document below for further details, along with a copy of the response form if you would prefer to respond via email or post.

Why We Are Consulting

We are consulting on a proposed option for the RFCC Composition.

The Regional Flood and Coastal Committee Regulations 2011 stipulates a statutory six week consultation period in order to vary the composition of a Regional Flood and Coastal Committee.

To ensure that we have consensus on our proposed scheme of membership we are inviting comments from members of the public and other interested parties.

What Happens Next

The responses to the Consultation will be reviewed by the Anglian (Northern) Regional Flood and Coastal Committee at their Meeting to be held in July 2019. At this meeting they will recommend a revised composition to go to the Agency Board and Minister for their approval.


  • Members of the public
  • IDBs
  • Local authorities
  • District and parish councils
  • RFCCs
  • Water companies
  • Lead Local Flood Authorities
  • Flood Resilience Forums


  • Flood management
  • Coastal management